Dean Castle will be closed until 2021 to allow major repair and refurbishment works to be carried out. From March - May 2018, the Castle's collections of early musical instruments, arms and armour and tapestries will be taken to the Dick Institute for safe-keeping and display. A series of events, workshops and recitals have been planned to allow visitors to view the collections. The display will change and develop over time as the collections are made ready to return to Dean Castle when it reopens in 2021. Due to the scale of the move, exhibits are expected to be on display at the Dick Institute from June 2018.
The Country Park, visitor centre and café will be open as normal.
Dean Castle, home and stronghold of the Boyd family for over 400 years, is open all year round and is free to visit. The Keep, dating to around 1350 will house outstanding displays that tell the story of the Boyd family and medieval life, as well as East Ayrshire’s stunning collection of arms and armour, once restoration is complete.
The 15th century Palace was spectacularly rebuilt from ruins by the 8th Lord Howard de Walden in the 1930s. The result is a sensitive restoration in keeping with the interior design of the 16th and 17th centuries and even re-using original 17th century fixtures and fittings taken from Balfour House, Fife. This building will tell the stories of the Howard de Walden family and showcase an internationally significant collection of medieval musical instruments.
Please note that the spiral staircases and narrow doorways may result in limited access to some visitors.
Tel: Dean Castle Country Park 01563 554734
Tel: Dean Castle 01563 554736